Blogging mistakes to avoid

 

After reading Shari Sax’s awesome beginner mistakes post, http://sharisax.com/newbie-mistakes/, I was inspired to do a little more research on the things a new blogger shouldn’t do. We all want our blogs to be the best they can be so here are a few things to avoid…

Getting discouraged-

At times we will get frustrated and you may want to say “Oh forget it! I don’t even care anymore! I don’t even need to do this!” But whatever you do don’t give up! Everything in life takes time and effort…Don’t give up and with time it’ll get easier and easier….I promise 🙂

 Confusing cluttered blogs-

Try to make your blog simple, clutter-free, and user-friendly. I don’t know about you but when I visit a cluttered page with useless advertisements jumping out at me I usually get frustrated and click my way right outta there. Your blog should be as inviting as it can be…I want readers to take a little time out of their day to slow down, relax, read and think about my posts.

Not writing from your heart-

Just be you…100% YOU, it’s a little hard when you’re in a class and blogging assignments are given to you so in a way no matter what your not being 100% you because the topics are semi-chosen for you. But, to a certain degree you can still be you 🙂

Blogging without a plan-

For the most part it’s always best to have a plan….don’t get me wrong spontaneity is a beautiful thing but for me when I have somewhat of a plan it just makes it a little easier…

Now, after reading quite a few articles on blogging mistakes these are only a few points that seemed most important to me so I decided to share them…but look into it more for yourself…Here’s a great article with more mistakes to aviod_  http://www.wikihow.com/Avoid-Common-Beginner-Blogger-Mistakes

And always remember, as Shari stated “learning social media is all about experimenting and taking risks” this is so true!! We must be sure to always experiment and take risks as often as we can…we should never not try something new because of fear…without people experimenting and taking risks our civilization would have never advanced to the point we are at today…

                      Thanks again for reading  

                                        &

                        Have a beautiful day

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. unfathomableruckus
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 06:39:05

    I have had a very hard time with this one myself as far as blogging, as this is also the first blog that I have had. It was difficult at first for me to balance the very real need to get a good grade in the class with my personal feelings about social media and journalism in the context of the way that things are currently structured: a profit based society. But I have made my peace with social media as a means to an end, and maybe even a part of that end when significantly modified. Thank you for your thought-provoking ideas.

    Reply

    • Vanessa Jensen
      Mar 04, 2011 @ 22:24:29

      Thanks Leanna * I agree, we do live in a profit based society…just about everything in our society is focused on the $$…the $$ is the main focus in the lives of many and I feel this is a shame…
      and Im sorry but what are you meaning when you say “maybe even a part of that end when significantly modified.”? I’m sorry…I see what you mean when you say I have made my peace with social media as a means to an end but then you lost me 🙂
      Thanks again **

      Reply

  2. taniesharjourn65 blog
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 08:29:38

    Well, that helped out a lot. I think the first one says it all, and if you can follow that one everything should fall into play I believe. “Having a plan” that was a great key point to have up there. It does help out so much more, to have a plan set out, even if it is a small one. I liked this piece, I got some very useful information.

    Reply

    • Vanessa Jensen
      Mar 04, 2011 @ 21:56:24

      Thanks T! Getting discouraged is the biggest thing we have to avoid…jus before I wrote this those thoughts were runnin through my head but I told myself not to give up and keep goin and I’m glad I did…and next time I’m deffinately going to have a plan before I begin to write…with this post I didnt have a plan before I started writing and I know thats why I started to get frusterated 🙂 I’m still very new to this but little by little I’m learning 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

