100% complete LinkedIn profile

Be sure to finish your profile completely!!

This is very important. If an employer is looking to hire someone based on their online resume it will not be such a good first impression if fields are left blank.

           Profile picture: Try to post the best head shot of yourself you can find…once again, you want to make a professional first impression. Avatars and images aren’t very professional.

            Header: Be creative and try and create a header that will catch an employer’s eye, make them want to click on your profile and read more about you.

            Summary: Of course, be completely honest! But, to a certain extent you do have to “sell” yourself. Describe who you are, what you (want to) do, and what makes you so special…be sure to write in first person and be VERY interesting.

            Links: Add links to your professional social media sites; personal websites, blogs, RSS feed, etc.

            Update: Update profile weekly and be sure to check back in regularly. Whatever you do DON’T “set it and forget it” 🙂

I just opened my profile this week so I am by no means experienced on this at all….this is helpful information I comprised after doing research for myself…I still have to finish my page…I will be doing that tomorrow.

Here’s a great video about getting started at LinkedIn:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNl9RVrXLhM&playnext=1&list=PL04A0F3EBEAD9F95A

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike10613
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 18:19:16

    I clicked the link to YouTube and it took me there and away from your blog. You would have been better switching to HTML and embedding the YouTube video into the blog. You can choose the size to embed and so don’t make it too big; just copy the HTML, then come back to edit your blog and paste it from your clip board. You keep you reader on your blog and a cross link to another blog can double your readership and page views. Just highlight a word(s) or phrase and click the link icon and it will list your blogs to link to – click the one you want and give it a name.

    Reply

  2. Vanessa Jensen
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 22:56:15

    Wow…thanks so much for the great suggestions Mike! I’ll have to research it a bit more because I’m not sure how to switch to html..?? I’m still very to to the blogging community 🙂

    Reply

    • Mike10613
      Mar 12, 2011 @ 19:36:49

      When you are editing your blog at the top right it says visual or HTML. You can switch to HTML to add code or tags. For example Before a title followed by after it will make it a large headline.

      Reply

  3. Mike10613
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 19:40:08

    Sorry I put the h1 tag in that comment and it was removed. It is hard to explain tags in a comment because they are HTML. The embed code from YouTube will work and the same with code from Photobucket; you just have to watch the size of the video or picture. If you find gadgets you can use the text one and put code in and drag and drop the gadget to you sidebar – good for putting the follow me graphic in the side bar.

    Reply

  4. Vanessa Jensen
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 02:36:37

    I see…thanks Mike! I’ll have to try that on my next postings. Would you happen to know about the related posts links on my page..they say automatically generated…does that always happen?

    Reply

  5. Mike10613
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 19:21:41

    Related posts are usually generated on the Home Page. I don’t think they are generated if you do other pages; the other pages don’t have Perma-links either. I would avoid them unless you have something you want displayed prominently. I think the additional pages can cause problems without the perma-links.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

