What was your reason for going vegetarian/vegan?

A great LinkedIn group, Vegetarians & Vegans asked:

What was your reason for going vegetarian/vegan?

A few members responded:

LaMana Donadelle • I realized how scandalous the meat industry is and that enabled to give up meat cold turkey (no pun intended)!

Melissa Starr • My main reasons for going vegetarian was for my health. I had a lot of stomach problems and then I was introduced to animal cruelty, everything that goes into that food, and how damaging it is to the earth by producing so much beef and pork products along with other meat products. I am so glad I made the switch. I feel years younger, have lost weight, my stomach has not bothered me for quite some time and I love being an advocate for healthier living.

Sara Ramos • I was just turning 16 when I saw a program of how animals were being killed in abattoirs. It just put me off there and then, 8 months later I decided to stop eating fish and have been a vegetarian ever since.
I was a vegan for 2.5 years at one point in my life, but did find it very restrictive.
I also had a go at being a frutarian, that was just to see what it was like and I lasted a month and four days. :p
Whatever the reasons, becoming a vegetarian has been the best choice I have ever made, and lets face it, nowadays it’s so easy being vegetarian.

Vineca Gray • The tremendous fortune of having a mother who lived her life passionately and compassionately – she helped me understand that all life is deserving of respect. Recently I took the full-on leap from decades of commitment to free-range chicken/wild caught sustainable fish to veganism.

The epiphany I had while watching ‘Earthlings’, the documentary film, was incredible. I cried a great deal, and I concluded that there are choices that I can make – painlessly.

This film gave me wings – I set flight into a more respectful world of sharing, instead of taking. Thank you world.

 ________________________________

Similar to Vineca, after watching a film about the wickedness done to animals in factory farms, this completely opened my eyes to the facts and drove me to never support that cruelty in any way.

Please…we must try our HARDEST to end the cruelty to all beings: people, animals and nature.  

Check out the group for yourself, you’ll be glad you did 🙂 http://www.linkedin.com/groups?mostPopular=&gid=85107

Leave a Reply

