Facebook feelings…

Over the years my feelings about Facebook have slowly but surely been changing. It all began about five or so years ago when I had first heard about Facebook, to be completely honest  I originally had my doubts…I figured it was just another Myspace style site where people just logged on, found old friends and regurgitated mindless information. At this point in time I was already pretty much done with the whole Myspace craze so I didn’t exactly jump on the train to get involved in Facebook. But then, I started to hear many speak about the benefits of Facebook and how they liked it so much better than Myspace so…after about a year or two I decided it would be best if I just stop criticizing Facebook and try it out for myself.

After opening my account my main use for Facebook has been keeping in touch with family and friends as well as discussing topics of interest with other like-minded people. But, being how these are my only uses…in my life it has turned out to be nothing more than just a newer enhanced Myspace.

But, please don’t get me wrong…I am completely aware of the potential power Facebook holds. We have all recently seen the power of social media in the Egyptian revolution. It opened our eyes to what truly can be done with the help of social media. It’s awesome.        

Like I said…my feelings about Facebook have been changing over the years…after seeing the changes that can be made with the use of social media, taking a Journalism 65 class, exploring Facebook much more than I previously had and learning of the many benefits to individuals, professionals and students I now feel it’s a VERY powerful social media site, if used properly.

Leave a Reply

